2017 Releases I’m Excited For

Considering the embarrassingly large size of my tbr list, I should probably be focusing on tackling that pile before adding more to it. But that’s just impossible as a book lover. New, amazing literature is constantly being released into the world; at a much, much higher rate than the number of books we consume. So the never-ending tbr actually becomes an ever-growing beast.

To that already enormous list, I have recently added seven more titles of books coming out this year that I think some of you guys might be interested in as well.

Flame in the mist by Renee Ahdieh (May 2017)fitm

I loved Renee’s debut book, the wrath and the dawn, and knew immediately I would be interested in anything she writes after that duology. This book sounds absolutely incredible. It is set in Japan and partly inspired by Mulan. With that alone, I was completely sold on the book.

The hate U give by Angie Thomas (Feb 2017) the hate

This book, inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, is told from the point of view of a teenage girl named Starr who sees her best friend being shot and the affect that event has on her life. This book sounds like a very important read, and I’ve heard phenomenal things about it so far.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber (Jan 2017) caraval

This book caught my eye because it has a very unique premise (and because the cover is STUNNING) which gives me a similar vibe that I got from the plot summary of The Night Circus (which I have not read yet). I will link the description of the book here if you want to know what this book is about in more detail.

Saints & Misfits by S.K. Ali (June 2017) saints

This is a YA book told from the point of view of a Arab Indian-American hijabi teenage girl, Janna. I have never read a book from the view of a young, muslim girl growing up in a western society which is why I am super excited for this book.

The bear and the nightingale by Katherine Arden (It’s out!) the bear

One of the books this debut is compared to was Uprooted, and I knew immediately that I’ll have to read this book when it comes out. This book is set in Russia, and promises a story of dark magic and Russian folklore. It is also said to be enchanting and very atmospheric – the reasons I loved Uprooted so much – which is why this is high up on my tbr.

Whichwood by Tahereh Mafi (Sep 2017)

This one sentence summary of the book currently on goodreads was enough to make me, and most likely you as well, excited for this novel: “A dark Persian fantasy about a girl who washes dead bodies for a living.” It sounds epic, to put it simply.

Genuine Faud by E. Lockhart (Sep 2017) genuine

E. Lockhart is finally releasing another novel!! As I mentioned in my previous post, we were liars was one of my favourite reads of 2016, and since finishing that book, I have been craving another mystery book from her. I am beyond excited to read this book.


Which books are you looking forward to in 2017? I would love to know in the comments below. I hope you all have a wonderful day. 🙂

3 thoughts on “2017 Releases I’m Excited For

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.